Blue and John Crow Mountains National Park, Jamaica as a UNESCO World Heritage Site

Wayne M. Gore - Apr 28, 2008
Listen to this article 00:00:46
Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio
The Caribbean region consists of twenty four island states, most of which are independent. This chain of islands and groups of islands borders the north and east of the Caribbean Sea with Central America to the west, and countries such as Colombia, Venezuela and Guyana to the south. The area has been recognised by Conservation International as one of the thirty-four biodiversity hotspots of the world. The region is also culturally significant because of its history which has brought together people from all over the globe at different times and for different reasons, but which has resulted in a unique and distinctive culture that is similar yet different in each of the countries...

Related articles


Add Comment