Tourism Review Online Magazine 4 / 2007

Apr 23, 2007
Dear friends/colleagues

With summer only weeks away, we begin anxiously to think about what our children are going to do in the long school holidays. How can we make their vacations fulfilling, stimulating and memorable experiences? How do we keep the younger ones happy? Where do we go and what do we do with them and for them? How do we organize our quality time? At this time of the year, parents tend to put such questions to travel professionals. TR aims to provide colleagues with some home-made answers. We hope you find them useful.

Oxana Morgunova
Executive Editor Tourism-Review.com

Supplements

Heritage and children: specific focus

Heritage and children: specific focus

Andrew J. Wein

- Apr 23, 2007
Kids come in all ages and with various talents. When the children are small, people tend to avoid trips. But travel with kids can be fun if you travel smart, prepare the trip well and avoid extreme challenges. When they get a bit older, everything is about challenges: after you survive a 200 meters descent into a copper mine, visiting a national soccer team backstage can be next on the list. Or teenagers might want to rock England on a music tour… On the other hand, I have a hunch that, looking back in 20 years time, one of their precious memories might be a heritage trip in search of family roots.
Professional: low cost airlines: from booking - to landing

Professional: low cost airlines: from booking - to landing

Denise Chen

- Apr 23, 2007
When I bought air tickets from a budget air company five years ago, I wondered if there was a pilot on the plane, so cheap was this option compared to some of the well-known giants. These days, small companies have become a big phenomenon in business, and they continue to expand. The new question concerns long-haul budget trips - do they have a future? Today we publish some contrasting opinions on the development of these airlines.
Transport: affordable luxury - budget cruises

Transport: affordable luxury - budget cruises

Theodore Slate

- Apr 23, 2007
Thanks to the increased popularity of cruises, more than 10 million people travel by ship annually. The choice of ports, cruise lines, ships, itineraries, cabins, and prices can be confusing for the customers, but do professionals in the travel industry have enough understanding of what is going on in the sector? Are we able to give informed advice on itineraries or on suitable options for families with children? Are we capable of analyzing the queries of budget conscious travelers?
Active/Adventure: Children summer camps

Active/Adventure: Children summer camps

James Morris

- Apr 23, 2007
Surveys show that 90% of parents who attended summer camp as children have sent their own children to camp, whether it is a day camp or a residential camp - for a weekend, a week, or a month. The decision to choose this option for summer holidays lies with the parents, rather than the children. Therefore, parents represent the primary target for marketing and communications initiatives. How does the industry maximize its impact in this respect? What messages and services can the industry emphasize in order to succeed in an increasingly competitive environment?
Educational tourism: New language or work experience

Educational tourism: New language or work experience

Gary Diskin

- Apr 23, 2007
This section demonstrates that educational tourism is moving to the top of the industry charts - first of all, because good schools, colleges and universities are keen to complement their “theoretical” courses with first-hand experiences at archaeological sites, nature reserves and in extreme conditions. There is also another trend – a “gap year for grown-ups”. People of different ages and social status are willing to learn through travelling, to expand their horizons by communicating, observing different lifestyles, getting new skills. And – what a surprise – a combination of travel and education can be more efficient in terms of personal finances than just travel or just education.
FAIRS AND EXHIBITIONS IN MAY 2007

FAIRS AND EXHIBITIONS IN MAY 2007

Ashley Nault

- Apr 23, 2007
Western Europe

Central and Eastern Europe

North America & Caribbean

Africa & Middle East

Asia & Pacific