Sara Thopson - May 10, 2023
Listen to this article 00:02:11
Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

Saudi Arabia has made efforts to attract more tourists by implementing a more tourism-friendly visa policy in recent years, in addition to those traveling for religious purposes. As a result, the Kingdom has decided to expand e-visa services to seven more countries.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has implemented a new online visa procedure to benefit visitors from Jordan, the UAE, Egypt, Bangladesh, Indonesia, India, and the Philippines.

To apply for the e-visa, eligible candidates must apply to Saudi Arabia's official tourism website.

To apply for a Saudi Arabian visa, applicants should click the "Apply Now" button on the e-visa website. Then, they must complete the necessary paperwork, pay the processing fees, and wait 30 minutes for their e-visa to be approved.

Once applicants have received their e-visas, they can print them and use them for entry into the country within 90 days.

In response to a rise in tourism, Saudi Arabian officials introduced the first stage of e-visas in late 2019.

In the past year, Saudi Arabian officials have announced that individuals can apply for a personal visit visa through the e-visa services form on their website. This allows tourists to visit their Saudi national friends. To obtain a personal visit visa, it is necessary to have an original passport with a validity of at least six months and two consecutive empty visa pages.

With a 90-day visa, travelers can explore all of Saudi Arabia, including the sacred cities of Mecca and Medina.

Last year, the Ministry of Hajj and Umrah issued more than four million visas to pilgrims from different countries during the Umrah season from July 30 until the end of 2022.

Saudi Arabian officials have unveiled plans to boost tourism by constructing 315,000 new hotel rooms at an estimated investment of $37.8 billion by 2030.

Related articles


Add Comment