Andrew J. Wein - Jun 12, 2023
Listen to this article 00:02:43
Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

Morocco, Argentina, and Thailand are among the countries recently selected by Canada to join the Visa Waiver and Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) programs.

Canada's Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, Sean Fraser, held a special press conference at Winnipeg International Airport on Tuesday, June 6, to announce good news for tourists from certain countries.

"Eligible travelers from 13 new countries will now be able to fly here without a visa (...) and embark on unforgettable adventures, explore our diverse landscapes, reconnect with family and friends, and immerse themselves in our vibrant culture," said the Minister.

In a press release, the Canadian government states that as of June 6, 2023, citizens of the following 13 countries will be able to travel to Canada without having to apply for a visa before departure:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay

To enter Canada without an entry visa, citizens of these 13 countries must have valid passports.

In addition to a passport or visa waiver, travelers must apply for an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) before departure.

This ETA can be applied through the government portal or through specialized visa agencies.

To visit Canada or pass through one of its airports without a visa, you must obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization by paying C$7 (roughly €5). The EST is valid for five years and permits multiple trips of up to 180 days to Canada.

A noteworthy condition applies to citizens of the 13 new countries included in the AVE program: travelers must have obtained a Canadian visa within the last ten years or hold a valid U.S. visa issued for purposes other than immigration.

Canada currently exempts tourists and business travelers from the 67 countries listed below from the visa requirement and requires an AVE to enter the country. Some nationalities, such as Argentina, Costa Rica, Thailand, and others, are visa-exempt for entry into Canada by air only.

Other nationalities do not require a visa if they enter Canada by land or sea (e.g., from the U.S. by car, bus, train, or boat, including cruise ships).

Related articles


Add Comment