Larry Brain - Jul 3, 2023
Listen to this article 00:02:01
Your browser doesn’t support HTML5 audio

In September 2021, South Korea introduced electronic travel authorizations for citizens of 112 countries exempt from short-stay visas. K-ETA, for Korea Electronic Travel Authorization, is valid for two years and allows multiple trips to the country.

From July 3, 2023, the electronic travel authorization for South Korea is extended; in particular, young travelers and senior citizens will no longer need a K-ETA from the same date. In addition, the K-ETA validity will be increased from 2 years to 3 years.

While South Korean authorities announced earlier this year that they would soon change the K-ETA, the Immigration Service announced improving the services that take effect on July 3, 2023.

South Korea will exempt travelers aged 17 and under and those aged 65 and over from the K-ETA requirement from July 3 to simplify its entry formalities.

The South Korean Immigration Service has implemented new regulations to make it easier for foreigners to visit South Korea for more extended periods. With these measures, foreigners can easily obtain a permit and visit South Korea.

These new conditions will not affect visitors from 22 countries. As of April 1, 2023, citizens and 22 nationalities are temporarily exempt from the K-ETA requirement for travel to South Korea.

This K-ETA waiver will be in effect until December 31, 2024, for nationals of the following countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Spain, United States (including Guam), Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Japan, Macau, Norway, New Zealand, Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom, Singapore, Sweden, and Taiwan.

A valid passport allows tourists and business travelers from the above list to enter South Korea without pre-departure formalities.

Related articles


Add Comment